Offered:

  • Term 1 (Feb-Apr ) and Term 3 (Aug-Sep) each year pending sufficient enrollment. On-line only.

Date & Time:

  • Introductory Thai 103 is offered in 2022 Term 3 on Monday evenings from 4:00-5:30pm during school Terms. Each Term consists of 8 weekly classes.

  • Term 3 classes begin on Monday 1 August 2022

  • The last class of the Term held on Monday 19 September 2022.

Time Zone equivalents:

  • Honolulu, Hawai’i: Sundays 6:00-7:30pm beginning 31 July 2022

  • US Pacific: Sundays 9:00-10:30pm beginning 31 July 2022

  • US Eastern: Mondays 12:00-1:30am beginning 1 August 2022

  • London, UK: Mondays 5:00-6:30am beginning 1 August 2022

  • Paris, France: Mondays 6:00-7:30am beginning 1 August 2022

  • New Delhi, India: Mondays 9:30-11:00am beginning 1 August 2022

  • Bangkok, Thailand: Mondays 11:00am-12:30pm beginning 1 August 2022

  • Singapore: Mondays 12:00-1:30pm beginning 1 August 2022

  • Sydney, Australia: Mondays 2:00-3:30pm beginning 1 August 2022

Description:

  • Introductory Thai 103 improves learners’ abilities with the Thai script (ภาษาไทย), writing and reading practice, and continued introductory grammar, vocabulary and conversation. Subsequent Terms reinforce both reading and writing, and focus on grammar, conversation and vocabulary.

Meet our Instructor

Thai Instructor

Machima (Mac) Aksonnit

Born in Bangkok, Thailand, Mac has now been living in Hamilton for the past 12 years. He has studied multiple languages such as French, Mandarin and Korean and is fluent in English and Thai. He has taught Thai to family friends and has greatly enjoyed giving lessons, which has encouraged him to join EarthDiverse. Promoting language and cultural diversity, Mac was a former Cultural Captain in his senior year of high school and won the Ingkan Award in 2015. Now currently working as a Laboratory technician, he has a background in Microbiology, as well as culinary arts, and enjoys reading about languages and experimenting cooking various cuisines.

Location:

Please note that this course is currently being offered as a live-streamed Zoom-only course, or via the video recordings of our live-streamed sessions posted 1-2 days after each class. There is no in-person component. The EarthDiverse offices and classrooms however are located at 401 Anglesea Street, First Floor, Hamilton Central, Hamilton

Please note that this course has no in-person component and is offered live-streamed via Zoom, or by the recorded sessions available usually the following day.
Location

Distance Learning:

This course has distance-learning options: Students have two options for attending our courses once they have registered:

  • Attend our live on-line classroom sessions via Zoom at the regular scheduled day and time.

  • Watch the live-recorded class sessions at your leisure, at a time, day and place more suited to your schedule.

Distance-Learning option:

  • Please note that this Thai 103 course is currently only offered as either a live-streamed Zoom session, or through viewing the recorded session the next day.

  • In addition to our in-person classes in Hamilton, our courses offer distance learning options for those unable to attend classes in-person. Live-streamed Hamilton classes are available via free Zoom software for those living outside the Waikato. Live-streaming allows you to participate fully in your own learning, ask questions of the instructor and participate fully in the same way as if you were in the physical classroom.

  • Those unable to attend the scheduled date and time of the actual class sessions, or those who need to miss a class or two due to previous engagements or unexpected illness, can watch any or all of the live-recorded video sessions on their computers, laptops, tablets or mobile devices and study at their own pace and in their own time.

  • Detailed instructions on how to access our distance learning components will be sent after completing your registration. There are no additional fees for this service. However, distance learners will need access to a desktop or laptop computer with a good quality web-camera (tablet devices and mobile phones can also access our live-streamed classes), a built-in microphone (most modern laptops have built-in microphones) or a headset with a microphone. You will also need to download and install the free Zoom software on your computer or device. Those accessing the video recordings will be able to do so with a simple web browser on any device.

Pricing options:

All prices in New Zealand Dollars

Course curriculum:

Week by week new material will be posted throughout the duration of the course. Video recordings of each weekly session will be posted here after 1-2 days after each class.

  1. 1
    • EarthDiverse Zoom instructions

Notes:

  • Those who cannot make the class meeting day and time via live Zoom sessions may consider accessing this course through the weekly recorded video sessions. Class videos are posted within 24 hours of each live class session and are available for your own personal learning session on a day and time of your choosing.

Materials:

  • All materials are included in the course fees. These are developed by our instructors and distributed as PDF files as the course progresses.

  • You will only require a pen or pencil, a notebook for taking your own class notes, and a loose-leaf binder. Any notes that our instructor writes on the class digital whiteboard will be emailed to you as a PDF file so that you can print these out at home and add them to your own notebook.

Prerequisites:

  • There are no prerequisites for this course. It is open to both adults and kids 10 years and older.

Upsells: