Offered:

  • 2022 Term 3 ( Aug - Sep).

Date & Time:

  • Our 2022 Term 3 course begins on Tuesday 2 August 2022, 6:30-8:00pm (New Zealand time)

  • Continues for eight weekly sessions, with the final class of the Term on Tuesday 20 September 2022.

Time Zone equivalents:

  • Honolulu, Hawai’i: Mondays 8:30-10:00pm beginning 1 August 2022

  • US Pacific: Mondays 11:30pm-1:00am beginning 1 August 2022

  • US Eastern: Tuesdays 2:30-4:00am beginning 2 August 2022

  • London, UK: Tuesdays 7:30-9:00am beginning 2 August 2022

  • Paris, France: Tuesdays 8:30-10:00am beginning 2 August 2022

  • New Delhi, India: Tuesdays 12:00-1:30pm beginning 2 August 2022

  • Bangkok, Thailand: Tuesdays 1:30-3:00pm beginning 2 August 2022

  • Singapore: Tuesdays 2:30-4:00pm beginning 2 August 2022

  • Sydney, Australia: Tuesdays 4:30-6:00pm beginning 2 August 2022

Description:

  • Please note that this course is offered via Zoom only and there is no in-person component.

  • Our Introductory Mandarin 101 course focuses on basic conversation, vocabulary, grammar, a little Pinyin and writing. During our first term, our course empowers you to build sentences, make some simple conversation, and learn appropriate expressions for different situations. And learning about Chinese culture island integral part of our teaching methodology.

  • Those who already understand and speak some Mandarin, but who do not know how to read and write, may also chose to enrol in the Mandarin 101 course.

  • Subsequent Term courses of Introductory Mandarin (i.e. our Mandarin 102-103 courses) continue with reading and writing practice, introductory grammar, vocabulary, and conversation and will continue in the same time slot for the rest of the year.

  • This course is offered pending sufficient enrollment. If this course is cancelled due to low enrollment, we will refund your tuition in full.

Meet our Instructor:

Mandarin Instructor

Ada Xiao

Being a Chinese by birth and Kiwi by choice, Ada knows China and New Zealand well. She immigrated from Beijing to Hamilton in 2012. During these ten years, Ada has worked mainly as an aircraft designer and then as a political candidate for the General Election 2020 and the Hamilton East Council by-election 2021. As a result, Ada has a good understanding of NZ society and NZ culture. One important thing that motivates Ada to be a Mandarin language teacher is that, in her previous working experience, she has seen so many people wanting to have some basic skills about Mandarin language, and some Chinese culture, for either personal interests, or business requirements. While Ada was a political candidate, quite a few local people questioned her about China, and Chinese people. In Ada’s opinion, this was due to a lack of understanding and communication. Ada is grateful to be able to teach the Mandarin language and introduce Chinese culture through the EarthDiverse platform.

Location:

This course is offered as a Zoom-only class and there is no in-person component. The EarthDiverse offices and classrooms located at 401 Anglesea Street, Hamilton Central, Hamilton (located just north of the Hamilton Central Bus Station) (entrance is located on the side of the building, see map below). Those looking for parking for our evening classes can park just in front of the building in any of the available car parks. Daytime parking can be found in our dedicated car parks, or free 2-hour on-street daytime parking can be found just in front of Anglesea Street.
Location

Distance Learning:

This course has distance-learning options.

  • Attend our live on-line classroom sessions via Zoom at the regular scheduled day and time.

  • Watch the live-recorded class sessions at your leisure, at a time, day and place more suited to your schedule.

Distance-Learning option:

  • This course offers distance learning options. Live-streamed Hamilton classes are available via free Zoom software for those living outside the Waikato. Live-streaming allows you to participate fully in your own learning, ask questions of the instructor and participate fully in the same way as if you were in the physical classroom.

  • Those unable to attend the scheduled date and time of the actual class sessions, or those who need to miss a class or two due to previous engagements or unexpected illness, can watch any or all of the live-recorded video sessions on their computers, laptops, tablets or mobile devices and study at their own pace and in their own time.

  • Detailed instructions on how to access our distance learning components will be sent after completing your registration. There are no additional fees for this service. However, distance learners will need access to a desktop or laptop computer with a good quality web-camera (tablet devices and mobile phones can also access our live-streamed classes), a built-in microphone (most modern laptops have built-in microphones) or a headset with a microphone. You will also need to download and install the free Zoom software on your computer or device. Those accessing the video recordings will be able to do so with a simple web browser on any device.

Pricing options:

All prices in New Zealand Dollars

Course curriculum:

Week by week new material will be posted throughout the duration of the course. Video recordings of each weekly session will be posted here after 1-2 days after each class.

Notes:

  • Those who cannot make the class meeting day and time either in-person or via live Zoom sessions may consider accessing this course through the weekly recorded video sessions. Class videos are posted within 24 hours of each live class session and are available for your own personal learning session on a day and time of your choosing.

Materials:

  • The course fee includes all teaching materials.

  • You will only require a pen or pencil, a notebook for taking your own class notes, and a loose-leaf binder. Any notes that our instructor writes on the class whiteboard will be emailed to you as a digital PDF file so that you can print these out at home and add them to your own notebook.

Prerequisites:

  • There are no prerequisites for this course.

Upsells: