Offered:

  • Term 1 (Feb-Apr) and Term 3 (Aug-Sep) every year pending sufficient enrollment.

Description:

  • The third Term of our Introductory Japanese course (Japanese 103) continues its focus on reading and writing practice in the hiragana and katakana scripts, and includes continued introductory grammar, vocabulary and conversation. Basic everyday vocabulary and conversations are taught. This course is designed for introductory Japanese learners who wish to continue their study of the Japanese language. Hidekazu will continue to guide you through the foundations of the Japanese language with additional visual and audio materials.

Date & Time:

  • Our 2022 Term 3 class meets on Thursdays from 6:30-8:00pm during school terms, beginning on Thursday 4 August 2022, with 8 weekly sessions. The final class of the Term will be held on Thursday 22 September 2022.

Time Zone equivalents:

  • Honolulu, Hawai’i: Wednesdays 6:30-8:00pm beginning 3 August 2022

  • US Pacific: Wednesdays 11:30pm-1:00am beginning 3 August 2022

  • US Eastern: Thursdays 2:30-4:00am beginning 4 August 2022

  • London, UK: Thursdays 7:30-9:00am beginning 4 August 2022

  • Paris, France: Thursdays 8:30-10:00am beginning 4 August 2022

  • New Delhi, India: Thursdays 12:00-1:30pm beginning 4 August 2022

  • Bangkok, Thailand: Thursdays 1:30-3:00pm beginning 4 August 2022

  • Singapore: Thursdays 2:30-4:00pm beginning 4 August 2022

  • Sydney, Australia: Thursdays 4:30-6:00pm beginning 4 August 2022

Meet our Instructor:

Japanese instructor

Hidekazu Oka

Hidekazu Oka is a 24 year old originally born in Tokyo, Japan. Before he settled in New Zealand seven years ago, he lived in Singapore for two years, and Taiwan for five years. Hidekazu is currently a third year student at the University of Waikato, double-majoring in Mandarin and Mathematics as well as being a Mandarin class representative in his second year. At the moment, Hidekazu is planning to develop a career teaching Japanese and Mathematics at the secondary school level. In his spare time, Hidekazu enjoys watching motorcycle vlogs, while dreaming to own his own motorcycle again, as well as enjoying authentic Chinese foods.

Location:

All in-person classes are held at the EarthDiverse offices and classrooms located at 401 Anglesea Street, Hamilton Central, Hamilton (located just north of the Hamilton Central Bus Station) (entrance is located on the side of the building, see map below). Those looking for parking for our evening classes can park just in front of the building in any of the available car parks. Daytime parking can be found in our dedicated car parks, or free 2-hour on-street daytime parking can be found just in front of Anglesea Street.
Location

Distance Learning:

This course has distance-learning options for those unable to attend the live class sessions in Hamilton. Students have three options for attending our courses once they have registered:

  • Attend in-person classes in our Hamilton classrooms at the regularly scheduled day and time.

  • Attend our live on-line classroom sessions via Zoom at the regular scheduled day and time.

  • Watch the live-recorded class sessions at your leisure, at a time, day and place more suited to your schedule.

Distance-Learning option:

  • In addition to our in-person classes in Hamilton, our courses offer distance learning options for those unable to attend classes in-person. Live-streamed Hamilton classes are available via free Zoom software for those living outside the Waikato. Live-streaming allows you to participate fully in your own learning, ask questions of the instructor and participate fully in the same way as if you were in the physical classroom.

  • Those unable to attend the scheduled date and time of the actual class sessions, or those who need to miss a class or two due to previous engagements or unexpected illness, can watch any or all of the live-recorded video sessions on their computers, laptops, tablets or mobile devices and study at their own pace and in their own time.

  • Detailed instructions on how to access our distance learning components will be sent after completing your registration. There are no additional fees for this service. However, distance learners will need access to a desktop or laptop computer with a good quality web-camera (tablet devices and mobile phones can also access our live-streamed classes), a built-in microphone (most modern laptops have built-in microphones) or a headset with a microphone. You will also need to download and install the free Zoom software on your computer or device. Those accessing the video recordings will be able to do so with a simple web browser on any device.

Pricing options:

All prices in New Zealand Dollars

Course curriculum:

Week by week new material will be posted throughout the duration of the course. Video recordings of each weekly session will be posted here after 1-2 days after each class.

  1. 1
    • EarthDiverse Zoom instructions

    • Japanese writing practice sheet

  2. 2
    • Japanese 103 Term 3 Week 1 class video from 4 Aug 2022

    • 20220804 T3.1 Japanese 103 class presentation PDF

Notes:

  • Those who cannot make the class meeting day and time either in-person or via live Zoom sessions may consider accessing this course through the weekly recorded video sessions. Class videos are posted within 24 hours of each live class session and are available for your own personal learning session on a day and time of your choosing.

Materials:

  • Introductory Japanese materials will be used throughout the course and are included in the course fees. These will be distributed as PDF files via email, which you can print at home and add to your own loose-leaf notebook. These may be supplemented by additional materials. You will require a pen or pencil, a notebook for taking notes, and perhaps a recording app on your phone to record yourself and your spoken progress. Any notes that your instructor writes on the class whiteboard will be emailed to you as a digital PDF file so that you can print these out at home and add them to your own notebook.

Prerequisites:

Prerequisites for this Course:

  • There are no prerequisites for this course.

Upsells: