Offered:

  • This 1 hour session was originally offered on 28 July 2022. You can get access to watch this video at any time by clicking a the button above.

Date & Time:

  • Live session was originally recorded on Thursday 28 July 2022. It is available to watch at any time.

Time Zone equivalents:

  • Honolulu, Hawai’i: Wednesday 27 July, 6:30-8:30pm

  • US Pacific: Wednesday 27 July, 9:30-11:30pm

  • US Eastern: Thursday 28 July, 12:30-2:30am

  • London, UK: Thursday 28 July, 5:30-7:30am

  • Paris, France: Thursday 28 July, 6:30-8:30am

  • New Delhi, India: Thursday 28 July, 10:00am-12:00pm

  • Bangkok, Thailand: Thursday 28 July, 11:30am-1:30pm

  • Singapore: Thursday 28 July, 12:30-2:30pm

  • Sydney, Australia: Thursday 28 July, 2:30-4:30pm

Description:

After The Accident: Rebuilding Your Life Through Mental Resilience

  • When I was in my late 30s, I had a life changing accident. I went from being a world champion elite sportsperson, to losing the use of my right arm. Doctors told me I’d never be able to drive, or work again. Let alone train. I went from being a super fit athlete, and active mum with a young family, to someone who could do very little without crying in pain which was life shattering.

  • But it was also the start of a decades long journey back to health. And now, years later, I’m able to do all the things doctors told me I’d never do again. So in this 2-hour interactive talk I want to take you through that journey.

  • I’ll share the lessons on resilience, recovery and mental determination I had to learn. All the inspirational and motivational insights I’ve gathered on the way, and the practical tips I’ve got for helping you prepare mentally for the moments that change your life forever.

Meet our Instructor

Instructor

Rosemary Johnson

Rosemary Johnson is the Founder of My Future Career Academy. Her passion is supporting people, especially women returning to work, to successfully overcome career challenges and re-enter the workplace. Her special interest in this comes from her own journey. She went from a global elite sportsperson and world champion rower, to losing her career, mobility and identity overnight after a debilitating work related injury. After being told she’d never drive, work, use a phone, run or do countless normal tasks like tie her shoes again, she became determined to regain her life. She spent the next two decades rebuilding, and went on to regain all the abilities doctors told her she’d never have again. All the while bringing up a young family and returning to University as to study psychology. She has since become an advocate, mentor and business founder, focusing on teaching these techniques for mental resilience and determination and using her story to teach others how to overcome obstacles in their career and life journeys. She is also a coach and mentor with First Foundation, and relaxes by playing clarinet in concert bands, gardening and spending time with her family.

Notes:

  • Rosemary will Zoom in from her home in Auckland. Participants are welcome to join us at the EarthDiverse Centre in Hamilton, or Zoom in from anywhere. Either way we can share a cuppa with Rosemary!

Plan of event:

  • 4:30-5:00pm: cuppa and meet Rosemary

  • 5:00-6:00pm: Rosemary’s presentation

  • 6:00-6:30pm: group discussion

Location:

All in-person classes are held at the EarthDiverse offices and classrooms located at 401 Anglesea Street, Hamilton Central, Hamilton (located just north of the Hamilton Central Bus Station) (entrance is located on the side of the building, see map below). Those looking for parking for our evening classes can park just in front of the building in any of the available car parks. Daytime parking can be found in our dedicated car parks, or free 2-hour on-street daytime parking can be found just in front of Anglesea Street.
Location

Distance Learning:

  • You get to choose your location when you Zoom in to our live classroom sessions, or access our classes at your leisure and at a time and day of your choosing by watching the video recorded sessions from each class. This allows you to study at your own pace.

Pricing options:

All prices in New Zealand Dollars

Upsells: