Offered:

This course is offered in Jan-Feb 2023

Date & Time:

This class meets on Fridays from 3:00-4:30 pm beginning on Friday 13 January 2023, with 6 consecutive weekly sessions. The final class of the Term will be held on Friday 17 February 2023 (New Zealand time).

Time Zone equivalents:

for live-streaming Zoom Sessions from New Zealand

  • Honolulu, Hawai’i: begins Thu 12 Jan 2023, 4:00-5:30pm

  • US Pacific: begins Thu 12 Jan 2023, 6:00-7:30pm

  • US Eastern: begins Thu 12 Jan 2023, 9:00-10:30pm

  • London, UK: begins Fri 13 Jan 2023, 2:00-3:30am

  • Paris, France: begins Fri 13 Jan 2023, 3:00-4:30am

  • New Delhi, India: begins Fri 13 Jan 2023, 7:30-9:00am

  • Bangkok, Thailand: begins Fri 13 Jan 2023, 9:00-10:30am

  • Singapore: begins Fri 13 Jan 2023, 10:00-11:30am

  • Sydney, Australia: begins Fri 13 Jan 2023, 1:00-2:30pm

Description:

This course is available as a live-streamed course via Zoom only and there is no in-person component.

The war in Ukraine has changed the global political landscape of Europe, directing attention at a part of the world whose history and culture is not always known. This course introduces students to modern Ukrainian history. It covers the Russian Revolution, the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic within the USSR, the period of “indigenization,” the collectivization of agriculture and the Ukrainian famine, the Second World War, the Brezhnev era, Ukrainian independence, the Revolution of Dignity, and the confrontation with Russia. There will be six zoom sessions, and time for question and discussion after each session. Please note that this course is offered via Zoom only and has no in-person component. You can access the live-streamed sessions and interact with the rest of the class and the teacher, or you can choose to watch the video recordings of the live sessions, which are usually available 1-2 days after each session (which allows time for our video editors to edit and post each session to the course web page).

Meet our Instructor

History Instructor

Dr Alexander Maxwell, PhD

Dr Alexander Maxwell, PhD is an Associate Professor of History at Victoria University in Wellington, where he teaches, among other things, a course on Soviet history. He is the author of Choosing Slovakia, Patriots Against Fashion, and Everyday Nationalism in Hungary. He has published widely on nationalism theory and the history of Eastern Europe. He is currently writing a book on Habsburg Panslavism.

Course curriculum

  1. 1
    • “Little Russia” to the Revolution:

  2. 2
    • Ukraine Under Lenin:

  3. 3
    • Ukraine and the Second World War:

  4. 4
    • The Decline and Fall of the Soviet Union:

  5. 5
    • Post-Soviet Ukraine to the Separatist Movements:

  6. 6
    • The 2022 Russian Invasion:

Location:

The EarthDiverse Centre is located at 401 Anglesea Street, Hamilton, New Zealand.

Please note that this course is offered as a Zoom-only course and is available via the live-streamed sessions only. There is no in-person component.


Distance-Learning Options:

This course is offered as a live-stream Zoom course only. Live-streaming allows you to participate fully in your own learning, ask questions of the instructor and participate fully in the same way as if you were in a physical classroom. Please note that this course is not recorded and available only to be watched during the live-streamed sessions. Detailed instructions on how to access our distance learning components will be sent after completing your registration. There are no additional fees for this service. However, distance learners will need access to a desktop or laptop computer with a good quality web camera (tablet devices and mobile phones can also access our live-streamed classes), a built-in microphone (most modern laptops have built-in microphones) or a headset with a microphone. You may also need to download and install the free Zoom software on your computer or device.

Pricing options:

All prices in New Zealand dollars and includes GST. Unwaged includes students, seniors and retirees.

Notes:

This course has no assignments, required readings, quizzes, tests or exams. All classes encourage questions and group discussion. There are no refunds for missed classes. Guests of registered participants are welcome to attend a single class at no charge.

Prerequisites :

There are no prerequisites for this course

Students reviews:

Testimonials: