Offered:

This course is offered in 2023 Term 1 in February.

Date & Time:

This class meets on Tuesday evenings from 7:00-8:00 pm beginning on Tuesday 14 February 2023. There are 5 consecutive weekly sessions. The final class of the Term will be held on Tuesday 14 March 2023 (New Zealand time).

Time Zone equivalents:

for live-streaming Zoom Sessions from New Zealand. If your Time Zone doesn't suit our live-streamed class, you can also access our courses by watching the live-recorded sessions that are posted to the course webpage each week, usually the next day.

  • Honolulu, Hawai’i: begins Mon 13 Feb 2023, 8:00-9:00pm

  • US Pacific: begins Mon 13 Feb 2023, 10:00pm-11:00pm

  • US Eastern: begins Tue 14 Feb 2023, 1:00-2:00am

  • London, UK: begins Tue 14 Feb 2023, 6:00-7:00am

  • Paris, France: begins Tue 14 Feb 2023, 7:00-8:00am

  • New Delhi, India: begins Tue 14 Feb 2023, 11:30am-12:30pm

  • Bangkok, Thailand: begins Tue 14 Feb 2023, 1:00-2:00pm

  • Singapore & Shanghai: begins Tue14 Feb 2023, 2:00-3:00pm

  • Tokyo, Japan: begins Tue 14 Feb 2023, 3:00-4:00pm

  • Sydney, Australia: begins Tue 14 Feb 2023, 5:00-6:00pm

Description:

This course is available as a live-streamed course via Zoom only and there is no in-person component.

In the wake of Her Late Majesty’s passing, this course reflects on the female leaders of the monarchy, exploring how their gender impacted their reign and legacy. Focusing on the Tudor period, we journey from the green sleeves of Anne Boleyn to the Catholic tyranny of Mary. This course explores the antithetical female leaders and their role in shaping British History at a time of significant change, the beginning of the birth of modern Europe.

The First Tudor Queens

Session 1: Tue 18 Oct 2022

The Boleyn Sisters

Session 2: Tue 25 Oct 2022

The Final Four Wives

Session 3: Tue 1 Nov 2022

Anne of Cleaves

The Catholic Queen

Session 4: Tue 8 Nov 2022

The First Queen Liz

Session 5: Tue 15 Nov 2022

Meet our Instructor

Junior Lecturer

Flicky Cunliffe

Flicky Cunliffe is a full-time first-year student at Victoria University of Wellington and will teach her first course for EarthDiverse. She currently studies a triple major in History, Political Science and International Relations and has a vast interest in British and European history, being a Brit herself. She is looking forward to teaching this course not only from the perspective of someone who grew up surrounded by monarchy memorabilia and experiencing them at the helm of her country, but also as someone who is fascinated by women in leadership positions throughout history.  Her passion for the Tudor period of British history combined with the recent passing of Queen Elizabeth II led Flicky to design a course that highlights the royal Tudor women and their impacts on history and on the modern-day.

Course curriculum

  1. 1
    • Zoom Instructions

Location:

The EarthDiverse Centre is located at 401 Anglesea Street, Hamilton, New Zealand.

Please note that this course is offered as a Zoom-only course and is available via the live-streamed sessions only. There is no in-person component.

The Zoom Meeting ID will be sent to you in the week before the course begins.


Distance-Learning Options:

This course is offered as a live-stream Zoom course only. Live-streaming allows you to participate fully in your own learning, ask questions of the instructor and participate fully in the same way as if you were in a physical classroom. Detailed instructions on how to access our distance learning components are posted on the course webpage and are immediately available after completing your registration. There are no additional fees for the Zoom service. However, distance learners will need access to a desktop or laptop computer with a good quality web camera (tablet devices and mobile phones can also access our live-streamed classes), a built-in microphone (most modern laptops have built-in microphones) or a headset with a microphone. You may also need to download and install the free Zoom software on your computer or device.

Pricing options:

All prices in New Zealand dollars and includes GST. Unwaged includes students, seniors and retirees.

Notes:

This course has no assignments, required readings, quizzes, tests or exams. All classes encourage questions and group discussion. There are no refunds for missed classes. Guests of registered participants are welcome to attend a single class at no charge.

Prerequisites :

There are no prerequisites for this course

Students reviews:

Testimonials: