Offered:

  • 2022 Term 3 (Aug-Sep) and 2022 Term 4 (Oct-Dec).

Date & Time:

  • Wednesday afternoons from 4:00-5:00pm during School Terms.

  • Classes begin on Wednesday 3 August 2022.

  • The last class is on 21 September 2022

Time Zone equivalents:

  • Honolulu, Hawai’i: Tuesdays 6:00-7:00pm beginning 2 August 2022

  • US Pacific: Tuesdays 9:00-10:00pm beginning 2 August 2022

  • US Eastern: Wednesdays 12:00-1:00am beginning 3 August 2022

  • London, UK: Wednesdays 5:00-6:00am beginning 3 August 2022

  • Paris, France: Wednesdays 6:00-7:00am beginning 3 August 2022

  • New Delhi, India: Wednesdays 9:30-10:30am beginning 3 August 2022

  • Bangkok, Thailand: Wednesdays 11:00am-12:00pm beginning 3 August 2022

  • Singapore: Wednesdays 12:00-1:00pm beginning 3 August 2022

  • Sydney, Australia: Wednesdays 2:00-3:00pm beginning 3 August 2022

Description:

Our Language teaching Style:

  • No homework

  • No marking

  • Storytelling as part of language immersion

  • We’re able to accept new cohorts of students in subsequent School Terms

Class Format:

  • 8 sessions per School Term

  • 1 hour class session

  • Hybrid classes: students have the option of attending either in-person at the EarthDiverse Centre in the Hamilton CBD, or on-line via Zoom

  • Classes are recorded so that students can review sessions, or catch up on a missed class

  • Caregivers will need to sign their kids in and out

Assessment:

Your child’s communicative skills in Vietnamese must first be assessed by our Team so that we are certain that s/he is placed in the correct class. Please contact our Language Programme Director Cristina Schumacher at: cristina@earthdiverse.org.nz to arrange an assessment.

Location:

All in-person classes are held at the EarthDiverse offices and classrooms located at 401 Anglesea Street, Hamilton Central, Hamilton (located just north of the Hamilton Central Bus Station) (entrance is located on the side of the building, see map below). Those looking for parking for our evening classes can park just in front of the building in any of the available car parks. Daytime parking can be found in our dedicated car parks, or free 2-hour on-street daytime parking can be found just in front of Anglesea Street.
Location

Meet our Instructor:

Vietnamese Instructor

Bao Hoang

My name is Bao Hoang. I am from Vietnam. I came to New Zealand in 2017 for my doctoral study at the University of Waikato. Given the unprecedented time in the last two years because of COVID-19 that have had an influence on many of us, I was lucky to be able to complete my doctoral journey in 2021. Before moving to New Zealand, I used work as a teacher of English at a university in Vietnam for more than 16 years. My experience with successful English language learners in Vietnam was actually an inspiration for my doctoral research topic on the conceptualisation of resilience in foreign language learning. I am currently working as an ELLA (English language learning assistant) at Knighton Normal School where I am supporting immigrant children with English so that they can catch up with academic activities in their classrooms. My experience in teaching translation at the university and working as a freelance translator in Vietnam has also recently given me the opportunity work as a tutor contributing to teaching the paper Reading and Translation for the Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Waikato.

Distance Learning:

This course has distance-learning options for those unable to attend the live class sessions in Hamilton. Students have three options for attending our courses once they have registered:

  • Attend in-person classes in our Hamilton classrooms at the regularly scheduled day and time.

  • Attend our live on-line classroom sessions via Zoom at the regular scheduled day and time.

  • Watch the live-recorded class sessions at your leisure, at a time, day and place more suited to your schedule.

Distance-Learning option:

  • In addition to our in-person classes in Hamilton, our courses offer distance learning options for those unable to attend classes in-person. Live-streamed Hamilton classes are available via free Zoom software for those living outside the Waikato. Live-streaming allows you to participate fully in your own learning, ask questions of the instructor and participate fully in the same way as if you were in the physical classroom.

  • Those unable to attend the scheduled date and time of the actual class sessions, or those who need to miss a class or two due to previous engagements or unexpected illness, can watch any or all of the live-recorded video sessions on their computers, laptops, tablets or mobile devices and study at their own pace and in their own time.

  • Detailed instructions on how to access our distance learning components will be sent after completing your registration. There are no additional fees for this service. However, distance learners will need access to a desktop or laptop computer with a good quality web-camera (tablet devices and mobile phones can also access our live-streamed classes), a built-in microphone (most modern laptops have built-in microphones) or a headset with a microphone. You will also need to download and install the free Zoom software on your computer or device. Those accessing the video recordings will be able to do so with a simple web browser on any device.

Pricing options:

All prices in New Zealand Dollars

Course curriculum

Week by week new material will be posted throughout the duration of the course. Video recordings of each weekly session will be posted here after 1-2 days after each class.

  1. 1
    • EarthDiverse Zoom instructions; Zoom Meeting ID: 846 3129 0834

  2. 2
    • Cách chào hỏi trong tiếng Việt - VTV4

    • Unit1_Greetings.pdf

    • 20220803 T3.1 Vietnamese 001 video

    • Lesson 1: getting to know each other

  3. 3
    • 20220809 T3.2 Vietnamese 001

Notes:

Those who cannot make the class meeting day and time either in-person or via live Zoom sessions may consider accessing this course through the weekly recorded video sessions. Class videos are posted within 24 hours of each live class session and are available for your own personal learning session on a day and time of your choosing.

Prerequisites:

Assessment:

  • Your child’s communicative skills in Vietnamese must first be assessed by our Team so that we are certain that s/he is placed in the correct class. Please contact our Language Programme Director Cristina Schumacher at: cristina@earthdiverse.org.nz to arrange an assessment.

  • Kids aged 5 - 13 only

Materials:

Your child will only require a pen or pencil, eraser, coloured pencils or crayons, drawing paper and a small notebook. Teachers may request in advance that parents supply additional materials.

Upsells: