Offered :

Term 1 (Feb-Apr) and Term 3 (Aug-Sep) each year.

Description :

Introductory German 101 course is specifically designed for adults (and children over 10 yrs) who would like to start from scratch and have no previous experience speaking German. It begins with learning the basics of spoken conversational German, introductory grammar, vocabulary, and reading practice. Subsequent Terms reinforce both reading and writing, and focus on additional grammar, conversation and increasing one’s vocabulary. Please note that this course is only offered if sufficient numbers register. Please contact us (via the form on our Contact page using the Menu Bar above) if you are unsure about registering. If you do register, and this course is cancelled due to low enrolment, please be advised that we will refund your tuition in full.

Date & Time:

Our 2022 Term 3 Introductory German 101, Part 1 course meets on Fridays 5:30-7:00 pm beginning on 5 August 2022 (NZ Time) for eight consecutive weeks.

Time Zone equivalents:

  • Honolulu, Hawai’i: Thursdays 7:30-9:00pm beginning 4 August

  • US Pacific: Thursdays 10:30pm-12:00am beginning 4 August

  • US Eastern: Fridays 1:30-3:00am beginning 5 August

  • London, UK: Fridays 6:30-8:00am beginning 5 August

  • Paris, France: Fridays 7:30-9:00am beginning 5 August

  • New Dehi, India: Fridays 11:00am-12:30pm beginning 5 August

  • Bangkok, Thailand: Fridays 12:30-2:00pm beginning 5 August

  • Singapore: Fridays 1:30-3:00pm beginning 5 August

  • Sydney, Australia: Fridays 3:30-5:00pm beginning 5 August

Meet our Instructor

German Instructor

Hein Laaper

I was born in Utrecht, Netherlands, but have lived most of my life in New Zealand. I graduated from the University of Waikato, also completing my Diploma of Teaching, after which I studied for one year at the University of Gõttingen, Germany, and later completing different courses in Tokyo and Osaka. I am presently a registered NZ teacher having taught for over 40 years in the NZ Secondary School System, mainly Japanese and German. Over the years I have also been involved in the Continuing Education programmes in Hamilton in German and Dutch. My interests are traveling, gardening, architecture and good food.

Location:

All in-person classes are held at the EarthDiverse offices and classrooms located at 401 Anglesea Street, Hamilton Central, Hamilton (located just north of the Hamilton Central Bus Station) (entrance is located on the side of the building, see map below). Those looking for parking for our evening classes can park just in front of the building in any of the available car parks. Daytime parking can be found in our dedicated car parks, or free 2-hour on-street daytime parking can be found just in front of Anglesea Street.
Location

Distance Learning:

This course has distance-learning options for those unable to attend the live class sessions in Hamilton. Students have three options for attending our courses once they have registered:

  • Attend in-person classes in our Hamilton classrooms at the regularly scheduled day and time.

  • Attend our live on-line classroom sessions via Zoom at the regular scheduled day and time.

  • Watch the live-recorded class sessions at your leisure, at a time, day and place more suited to your schedule.

Distance-Learning option:

  • In addition to our in-person classes in Hamilton, our courses offer distance learning options for those unable to attend classes in-person. Live-streamed Hamilton classes are available via free Zoom software for those living outside the Waikato. Live-streaming allows you to participate fully in your own learning, ask questions of the instructor and participate fully in the same way as if you were in the physical classroom.

  • Those unable to attend the scheduled date and time of the actual class sessions, or those who need to miss a class or two due to previous engagements or unexpected illness, can watch any or all of the live-recorded video sessions on their computers, laptops, tablets or mobile devices and study at their own pace and in their own time.

  • Detailed instructions on how to access our distance learning components will be sent after completing your registration. There are no additional fees for this service. However, distance learners will need access to a desktop or laptop computer with a good quality web-camera (tablet devices and mobile phones can also access our live-streamed classes), a built-in microphone (most modern laptops have built-in microphones) or a headset with a microphone. You will also need to download and install the free Zoom software on your computer or device. Those accessing the video recordings will be able to do so with a simple web browser on any device.

Pricing options:

All prices in New Zealand Dollars

Course curriculum:

Week by week new material will be posted throughout the duration of the course. Video recordings of each weekly session will be posted here after 1-2 days after each class.

  1. 1
    • EarthDiverse Zoom instructions

  2. 2
    • German 101 Term 3 Week 1 class video from 5 Aug 2022

    • 20220805 T3.1 German 101 LEARNING GERMAN 001

    • 20220805 T3.1 German 101 class notes

  3. 3
    • 20220812 T3.2 German 101 LEARNING GERMAN 002

  4. 4
    • 20220819 T3.3 German 101 LEARNING GERMAN 003

  5. 5
    • 20220826 T3.4 German 101 LEARNING GERMAN 004

  6. 6
    • 20220902 T3.5 German 101 LEARNING GERMAN 005

Notes:

Those who cannot make the class meeting day and time either in-person or via live Zoom sessions may consider accessing this course through the weekly recorded video sessions. Class videos are posted within 24 hours of each live class session and are available for your own personal learning session on a day and time of your choosing.

Prerequisites :

There are no prerequisites for this course. It is open to both adults and kids 10 years and older.

Materials:

Course materials are provided to all registered students in the form of handouts, PDF attachments emailed to students, or digital materials made available to you for download. There is no need to purchase any additional Arabic textbooks for this course, although you may choose to do so to supplement your learning. You will only require a pen or pencil and a notebook for taking your own class notes. Any notes that our instructor writes on the class whiteboard will be emailed to you as a digital PDF file so that you can print these out at home and add them to your own notebook.

Upsells: