Offered :

Term 2 (May-Jun) and Term 4 (Oct-Dec) each year pending sufficient enrollment.

Date & Time:

This course next meets in 2022 Term 4 on Tuesdays in the 6:00-7:30pm time slot and meets for eight consecutive weeks. The first day of our Arabic 102 course is on Tuesday 11 October and the last day is on Tuesday 29 November 2022.

Time Zone equivalents:

  • Honolulu, Hawai’i: Monday 7:00-8:30pm beginning 10 October 2022

  • US Pacific: Monday 10:00-11:30pm beginning 10 October 2022

  • US Eastern: Tuesday 1:00-2:30am beginning 11 October 2022

  • London, UK: Tuesday 6:00-7:30am beginning 11 October 2022

  • Paris, France: Tuesday 7:00-8:30am beginning 11 October 2022

  • New Delhi, India: Tuesday 10:30am-12:00pm beginning 11 October 2022

  • Bangkok, Thailand: Tuesday 12:00-1:30pm beginning 11 October 2022

  • Singapore: Tuesday 1:00-2:30pm beginning 11 October 2022

  • Sydney, Australia: Tuesday 4:00-5:30pm beginning 11 October 2022

Description :

Our Introductory Arabic 102 course for beginners continues our study of the Arabic language and builds upon the knowledge of the Arabic script gained in the Arabic 101 course. Over the eight weekly sessions during this Term, students will continue to gain reading and writing practice, continue their study of elementary Arabic grammar, learn new vocabulary, and gain additional conversational skills.

Who can take this course?

New students who may already be familiar with the Arabic script (e.g. may currently speak or may have previously studied a related language like Persian or Urdu) but do not know any Arabic, are eligible to enrol in our Arabic 102 course.

Meet our Instructor

Arabic Instructor

Esraa Abdelmaksoud

My name is Esraa. I was born and raised in Egypt, and I graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Pharmaceutical Studies. I worked as a pharmacist for many years in the Alexandria University Hospital before moving with my husband to Doha, Qatar. After eight years of living in Qatar, my family and I moved to New Zealand. I lived in Auckland for six months before settling in Hamilton. I have been in Hamilton for four years. I studied business in 2019 followed by a Health & Wellbeing course at Wintec in 2020.vI have participated in a Flourish leadership program for ethnic women for one year. I am currently doing a Diploma in Health and Community Support. I have volunteered with the Refugee Orientation Centre as an HR coordinator. I am currently teaching an Arabic course for non-Arabic-speaking children at RICC. I enjoy reading novels, walking, trying multicultural recipes, and travelling. I have been to Lebanon, Turkey, South Korea, Malaysia and Saudi Arabia. I have explored multiple regions in New Zealand with my family. In my spare time, I try to learn new languages. So far, I have studied basic French and Spanish conversational skills and I am now trying to pick up the Turkish language. I am excited to join the EarthDiverse team and I am looking forward to sharing the Arabic language and culture.

Location:


EarthDiverse, 401 Anglesea Street, Hamilton CBD, Hamilton or online via Zoom.

We're located on the first floor above Copier World, entrance on left side of building.






Distance-Learning Options:

In addition to our in-person classes in Hamilton, our Arabic language courses offer distance learning options for those unable to attend classes in person. Live-streamed Hamilton classes are available via free Zoom software for those living outside Waikato. Live-streaming allows you to participate fully in your own learning, ask questions of the instructor and participate fully in the same way as if you were in the physical classroom. Those unable to attend the scheduled date and time of the actual class sessions, or those who need to miss a class or two due to previous engagements or unexpected illness, can watch any or all of the live-recorded video sessions on their computers, laptops, tablets or mobile devices and study at their own pace and in their own time. Detailed instructions on how to access our distance learning components will be sent after completing your registration. There are no additional fees for this service. However, distance learners will need access to a desktop or laptop computer with a good quality web-camera (tablet devices and mobile phones can also access our live-streamed classes), a built-in microphone (most modern laptops have built-in microphones) or a headset with a microphone. You will also need to download and install the free Zoom software on your computer or device. Those accessing the video recordings will be able to do so with a simple web browser on any device.

Pricing options

Course curriculum

Notes:

Those who cannot make the class meeting day and time either in-person or via live Zoom sessions may consider accessing this course through the weekly recorded video sessions. Class videos are posted within 24 hours of each live class session and are available for your own personal learning session on a day and time of your choosing.

Prerequisites :

Prerequisites for this Arabic 102 course are: Arabic 101 Students already familiar with the Arabic script (e.g. those who can read and write in another similar language like Persian or Urdu), but who cannot speak Arabic or who do not know any Arabic grammar, are also eligible to enrol in this course.

Students reviews:

Testimonials: